Universitat Rovira i Virgili


The Doctoral School is to ensure and safeguard the quality of its doctoral programmes. Vital to the success of this mission are inter-institutional alliances and cooperation with universities and other key players both within the region and around the world.

The type of doctoral studies agreement that is established depends on the aim of the course and the nature of the collaborating institution.

  • Types of agreement
  • Co-tutorship:
    An agreement between two universities that enables the student to obtain a double doctoral degree. The doctoral students have a thesis supervisor at each university and must spend time studying at the host university.
  • Joint doctoral degree:
    An agreement between two or more institutions to establish an inter-university doctoral programme that enables students to obtain a single qualification from all the participating universities.
  • Framework agreement between doctoral schools:
    An agreement between two doctoral schools that formally sets out the schools' desire to promote activities in any of the ambits relating to doctoral training where mutual cooperation is possible.
  • Framework agreements in the ambit of doctoral studies:
    An agreement between two universities that formally sets out both institutions' desire to cooperate in the ambit of doctoral studies.
  • Industrial doctoral degrees:
    An agreement between the URV and a company whereby doctoral students base their doctoral theses on a strategic project at the company.
  • Collaboration agreements with non-university foreign institutions:
    An agreement between the URV and a foreign institution that establishes some form of cooperation in the ambit of doctoral studies.

You can find standardized templates of different agreements on the intranet of the URV.

For any requirement, please contact convenisepd(ELIMINAR)@urv.cat